Life is good!

While sitting outside smoking after getting home from work and taking a hot bath…
Something happened.
As you guys know, I recently posted a blog talking about and sharing my quarterly goals.  A journey that I am just starting.  Several people have asked me why… and I’ve been trying to figure out how to best answer that question. 
As I sit here listening to an Ed Sheeran cover of one of my favorite songs “Wonderwall” and thinking about my life I’ve realized several things all at once.  One of those things is that I am 100% happy with my life and here’s why…
Life is good!  Sure, there are plenty of things that aren’t perfect – and I could choose to focus on those thing if I wanted to… but I don’t.  In fact, I’ve already spent at least the last ten years doing just that! 
Do you know what focusing on the negative does?  It fills your life with negativity. 
Now this time of the year is particularly hard for me.  Some of you know and some of you don’t, but eight years ago I was diagnosed with complex PTSD.  I have spent the last eight years trying to beat it.  Failing time and time again until I made the decision to take control of my life and out myself in the way of beauty. 
Moving to Delphi changed my life. No. It changed me.  I still struggle, don’t get me wrong.  Hell, I’m sitting here writing this blog at 2 am because I’ve hardly slept in the past week and I know that if I do… I’ll have nightmares.  Not everything is in our control.


My point is – stop putting energy into those things.  Put your energy into things that you can control.  #1 your happiness!
Less than a month ago I married an amazing man.  Is he perfect?  Yes.  To me he is.  Do you want to know why?  To me, he is perfect, because I don’t put my focus on his flaws.  It’s really simple believe it or not.  For me, everytime one of his flaws pop up I instantly start playing through everything that I love about him. 
You can do this with everything!


Do you hate working so much?  Yeah, so do I.  But, the more I work the more I learn.  The more I work the more comfortable I am financially.  In my case especially, the more I work the more people I help.  Would I rather have a mediocre job so that I could be home more sitting on the couch, staring at the TV?  No. No I would not. 
Each and every person reading this – take action now.  It isn’t easy but focus on what you really want in life, take the time to write out your goals, and get to action.  Will it suck sometimes?  Will you be physically and mentally exhausted at times?  Yes – but you won’t regret it.
I was scared shit less when I moved here… but I quickly realized that it was where I needed to be.  I am finally me. 

Leave a Reply

